AssociationTrends Salute to Association Excellence – Highlights!

On February 6, TWG partnered with Association Trends to produce the 36th annual “Salute to Association Excellence” Luncheon at the Capital Hilton in Washington, D.C. The annual event honors the brightest stars of the association community and their commitment to excellence.

The awards program began with the acknowledgment of the All Media Contest Winners, recognizing innovative communications and marketing work. The Publisher’s Choice Award in the Contest went to the American Institute of Graphic Arts (AIGA) in partnership with Kiss Me I’m Polish, for their 2014 Membership Toolkit.

After lunch and a networking break, the program resumed with the recognition of five Young & Aspiring Association Professionals. The honorees were Debra S. BenAvram of the American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition; Geoffrey Brown of the National Association of Personal Financial Advisors; Matthew D’Uva of SOCAP International, Washington; Laurie Kulikosky of the American Society of Transplant Surgeons; and Keith Segundo of the Limitless Association Solution Resource.

Following the recognition of Young & Aspiring Association Professionals, five Leading Association Lobbyists (LAL) were recognized. The lobbyists recognized were Jon Johnson of Johnson & Blanton; Patricia Rojas-Ungár of U.S. Travel Association; Neil Snyder of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association; Christopher Vest of ASAE; and Randall F. Witter of Cook-Witter.

The luncheon concluded with the two highest honors of the year, the Partner of the Year and Association Executive of the Year Awards.

The Partner of the Year Award was presented to Andy Steggles, President & Chief Customer Officer of Higher Logic. His light-hearted acceptance speech, which reminisced about how his days in the Royal Navy and as head of technology at an association led him to his current success with Higher Logic.

“While reflecting on the various relationships I’ve had over the years with associations and providers alike, without doubt the most successful have been where each side views the other as a partner,” remarked Steggles.

The Association Executive of the Year Award was presented to former Governor John Engler, President, Business Roundtable of Washington. Mr. Engler was honored for his contributions to the association industry, including his leadership at the National Association of Manufacturers.

“Gov. Engler is an example of the best that can be achieved when a top figure from the world of politics embraces the very different but no less challenging world of association leadership,” said Association Trends publisher Joel Poznansky.

TWG extends our congratulations to all honorees and award recipients of the Salute to Association Excellence Luncheon and would like to thank Association Trends for partnering with us again to produce this well respected event!

About Megan Dwoskin

In her position as Associate Director of Creative and Digital Marketing Strategy, Megan Dwoskin develops and maintains websites and social media sites for The Webster Group (TWG) and its clients’ events. She also designs creative materials and branding for client events including marketing emails, documents, logos, and more. Throughout her career, Ms. Dwoskin has developed and maintained over 15 websites, and has a specialty in developing websites for events. She is skilled at building social media presences on numerous sites including Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter, Instagram, and others. As the lead on digital media efforts, she constantly stays abreast of trends in web development and social media in an effort to provide cutting edge services to TWG’s clients. You can connect with Ms. Dwoksin on LinkedIn.